The meta company tracks your Facebook links, but you can stop it
We have found out where Facebook stores our information before. Users have noticed an issue that seems annoying. Meta Company tracks all the links you open on your Facebook. Users consider this a violation of privacy and are unhappy with it. Facebook has now enabled you to stop this tracking, and this company will no longer track your links. We will talk more about it in this article.
Tracking Facebook links targeted ads or privacy violations?
Meta, the parent company of Facebook, is discussing a feature where all the links you open on Facebook are saved together. Hence, you always have a history of them to open and re access them.
If you enter the Facebook settings section and open the Link History option, you will see that all your links are located here. Meta considers it a feature and said these links will be saved for only 30 days. Also, this company has stated that this will show you more targeted ads.
However, users consider this a violation of privacy laws, and they think Meta is tracking them with this work. Although this history is cleared every 30 days, this feature is turned on automatically, and the user must manually turn it off to avoid saving their links.
If the user is unaware of this, Meta company will continue to track the links, and you will not receive any warning. If tracking clicked links leads to targeted advertising, who knows what else it could be used for? There is a fine line between providing a valuable and abusive tool.
How to turn off Facebook link history tracking
If you are also upset that Facebook is tracking your links and you think your privacy is being violated, you can stop it by the following method.
- Open the Facebook app Log in to your Android or iOS phone and open the Facebook app.
- Enter the menu In the lower right corner, there you can find your menu. Enter the menu.
- Touch the Settings & privacy option and enter the Settings section You can find a section on turning off link tracking by Facebook on the Settings and Privacy page.
- Scroll down a bit to find Browser Scroll down to find and enter the Browser option. Here, you can see the link tracking and related history.
- Disable Link History By unchecking your link history, your links will no longer be tracked. If this option is not there for you, it is most likely yet to be activated for you. Make sure that you are using the latest version of the Facebook application. In case of an update, enter the application again and follow these steps.
It is the first time Meta company allows users to uncheck the tracking information option. This feature is yet to be available on Instagram, and still, if you open a link in these applications, you cannot open it in a browser such as Chrome or Safari. However, this feature is a significant and valuable step for Facebook, making users feel better about maintaining their privacy. If you want to follow the news on social networks, take advantage of our content.