How to Delete WhatsApp Messages
Table of content
It must have happened to all of you when you mistakenly send a message to someone or in a group, or even maybe you regret sending that message. In such cases, you look for a way to delete the message. The good news is that WhatsApp users can delete the messages they have sent from their own chat page or both parties’ chat page. It is interesting to know that normally, you can delete the message from both the sender and the recipient’s chat in WhatsApp only up to 1 hour and 8 minutes after sending the message. Don't worry if you need to delete messages that are older than this. With the trick that we will teach you in this article, it is also possible to delete older messages. In the following, we will teach you how to delete WhatsApp messages within the allowed time limit (up to 68 minutes after sending the message) and after the allowed time limit.
How to Delete WhatsApp Messages Within the Time Limit Allowed
If you have used WhatsApp, you must have noticed that WhatsApp user does not have the ability to edit the sent messages; But the ability to delete messages in WhatsApp is one of the good features of this messenger.
This feature allows you to delete the messages you have sent to private or group chats. This feature is very useful if a wrong message is sent or a wrong text is typed in a part of the message.
Deleting a WhatsApp message exists for both parties after only one hour and eight minutes (68 minutes), which is called the allowed time limit for deleting a WhatsApp message.
To delete a message within the time limit allowed, just follow these steps:
Log in to your WhatsApp and find the message you want to delete. Hold your finger on the message for a few seconds.
In the created box, select Delete or Trash.
Select "Delete For Everyone" to delete the message from the chat of both parties (the sender and the recipients) and "Delete For Me" to delete the message only from your own WhatsApp chat, not the recipient.
In WhatsApp, unlike Telegram, it is not the case that the recipient does not notice anything after a message is deleted, because after you have completed all the above steps, the text "This message was deleted" will be displayed to your contact instead of the original message and you will see "You deleted this massage" instead of the message sent on your chat page.
Use WhatsApp Bug to Delete Your Old Messages (after the allowed time limit)
You only have a little over an hour to delete the message you send in whatsapp. Normally, if you want to delete the message after this period of time, only the “Delete for me” option will appear. This means you can only delete that message on your chat page while that message remains on the recipient's chat page.
Do not worry if after this period you notice that a message has been sent mistakenly; You will still have the opportunity to delete the message. There is a bug in WhatsApp that allows you to go beyond the time limit for deleting older messages. This bug also allows you to delete messages that have been read by the recipient. This trick may not work on some devices.
How to Delete WhatsApp Messages After the Allowed Time Limit
To delete a message (from sender and the recipient’s chat), even after the normal time limit for doing so, just follow these steps in order:This method is not guaranteed and the desired result may not be achieved.
The first step is to see and remember the date and time of the message you want to delete on WhatsApp.
Disconnect your phone from the Internet and enter your phone's settings.
From the phone settings, go to your Apps.
Select the WhatsApp application.
Select "Force Stop" at the top of the page that opens.
Enter the time and date settings of your phone.
Turn off the automatic Date & Time of your phone.
Set the date and time of your phone to the date and time of the message you want to delete.
Log in to your WhatsApp application without turning on your Internet connection and delete the message in accordance with the "How to Delete WhatsApp Messages Within the Time Limit Allowed " section.
You can easily use the WhatsApp bug to your advantage and delete your older messages even after the expired WhatsApp time limit (ie 68 minutes after sending the message).